Faith like a Child’s…Toy: The Foam Puzzle Mat

Foam Puzzle Mat This may not be a toy too many of my readers grew up with, but they are certainly a more common sight with this newer generation.  These things are just fun. They can be used as a soft mat to cover a hard surface that a young child will play on or walk on. However, they can also be used to build large cubes or played with in other ways.

I bought a set for my son a few months back after he out grew his old “cave” under his jumper chair. My intentions were always to build him a new “cave” for him to play in. However, the first time I began to play with the foam pieces with my son, I discovered that building a cave would not be as easy as I thought. Like many a building project, I underestimated how long it would take to make his cave. I also found that the pieces needed to be put together just right so that the cave would stay standing. However, the biggest obstacle was that I always tried to build the cave when my son was ready to play with his daddy and his large, new toys.

Just recently, I noticed that my efforts to build my son a cave were very similar to how many Christians try to build up their faith as well. We will start all sorts of “projects” with the best intentions, but we fail to consider everything that such growth will take to be achieved. Sure we want to learn how to be more patient, but we never expect it to take years before we see results. We might try to grow in our knowledge of scripture, but we don’t want to get advice on where to start or which doctrines will form the base of more complex teachings in scripture. Then there are other times we are trying to grow, but we are making those efforts while giving too much time to bad influences or wasteful habits. In the end, our projects can often be underachieving or simply never completed because we did not prepare ourselves for the obstacles we would meet along the way.

So what do we do when we find that our efforts to grow aren’t going as far as we had hoped? Take the time to identify and address the problems you keep facing. Realize that growth may take seeking some Godly advice or some moments of prayer. If time is a struggle, be honest about it and make efforts to block out some time to succeed in your efforts. We should also always be careful to put ourselves in situations that favor spiritual growth, rather than challenge it.

Let me encourage you with this. When we make honest efforts to achieve our goals, they can be reached. It took some time and a bit more planning but take a look, I finished my sons “cave.”

A Completed Cave!

Written by Timothy Hegerich

There is truth in our world, and it lies within the word of the One who created the world.  It is my prayer that my thoughts and writings echo this truth and inspire you to seek it for your life today!

Leave a Reply

