Seeking 101

“Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened” Matthew 7:7-8 [NIV]

Aren’t we all seeking something in life? You may be seeking comfort as you struggle with loneliness or hopelessness. You may be seeking a fresh start as you grow frustrated with a stale worship or work environment. Perhaps all you are seeking is to be satisfied with life as it is around you. What really bothers many of us is when we find ourselves longing for something and we aren’t quite sure what it is. How can we seek if we do not know what we are looking for?

Well, take a moment and consider the above passage from Matthew 7. Typically when someone is looking at this passage, we consider the “ask and it will be given” portion of the passage to be referring to how God will give us what we want. This thought however is not necessarily correct, as the rest of scripture will tell us that we have to align our thoughts and desires with God’s, which means that we will ultimately not be desiring anything that cannot benefit God’s kingdom.

So if we are to desire God’s ways and his goals, wouldn’t this mean that what we seek should be God’s plans? For you and me as Christians, the only way to find real direction in life is to ask God what his plans are for us. There is no other means of guidance which will really satisfy us.

From my own personal experience, there have been plenty of times in my life where I have been seeking something for my life which was not in God’s plans. For a long time I wanted to be the next Billy Graham, but my passions are not for mass evangelism as much as they are for personal efforts. To best seek, I need to ask God what he expects. This will also make it easier to know when I’ve found the doors he wants me to walk through and which ones I was not meant to be at.

Where is your seeking starting these days? Join me and make an effort to ask the Lord about his plan before you and I find things that we were not meant to seek.

Leave a Reply

