What are your Thoughts

Oh no, you’ve been defeated by the enemy and have done something you know God would not have wanted you to do! For a believer who has grown a little bit in their walks with the Lord, major sin struggles may not be a problem, but there may be some bad habits that you are having a hard time finding victory over. Things like regular fits of anger, constant battles with poor language or doubts, or perhaps even struggles that arise from loneliness or depression can all lead to sins that don’t hurt anyone, but still keep you from growing in your relationship with Jesus.

All of those problems with anger, frustrations or doubts can be dealt with, since they all come from a common problem. They all are issues that occur when our thoughts are not on the Lord.

I know what you’re thinking, isn’t that the case with every sin? Well, yes, but these particular issues all come from a mind that is dwelling on something that is not of the Lord. It’s hard for someone who is thinking of the Lord to stay angry or upset, since the very essence of the Lord is love. Give it a try right now. Consider something that you know upsets you and then think of how the Lord would respond to your thoughts. I imagine you are feeling more curious or inspired than angry or sad. Again, this is because the essence of our God is righteousness and love.

I’ve had my own struggles lately where it has been very easy to dwell on my frustrations. After a few minutes of those frustrating thoughts, it is difficult to not be critical of the things around me or to function as well as I would like. However, when I start to think about God’s perspective of my situations, I usually come to realize that what I’m dealing with is in His more than capable hands, and He has devised a plan for my life that is good, even if I can’t see it at that moment.

You and I would not have this battle if we began to do one simple thing; make it a habit to ask ourselves what is it that God is seeing in our situation. I get angry when I do not understand why someone would harm me, or act in a way that is not in everyone’s interest. But if I asked God to show me what He is seeing, He might just help me understand that a poor choice now can be made into a great blessing later. Regardless of the things that bring us to these weakened states of mind, looking to God will allow us to fortify our thoughts with the truths that have stood since before time began.

Don’t let the thoughts that reveal the fallen state of this world keep you from receiving the thoughts that come from a truly good God! Make an effort to give more of your thoughts to the Lord! The Apostle Paul said something quite similar here in Philippians over 2000 years ago.

“Finally, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, dwell on these things.”  Philippians 4:8 [NASB]

Written by Timothy Hegerich

There is truth in our world, and it lies within the word of the One who created the world.  It is my prayer that my thoughts and writings echo this truth and inspire you to seek it for your life today!

Leave a Reply

