What do you care?

I love how God works with his people. When we are walking with the Lord, we will naturally go through seasons where we can feel God molding us or challenging us to decide what matters to us. If you are like me, you are probably troubled by some of the things going on in our world. For me personally, I am not fond of the direction my country is taking politically. Others may find themselves frustrated with a marital problem or financial matter. So while my title may be completely direct, I would like for you to think about what it is you care about.

For the last few weeks, bit by bit, the Lord has been adjusting my attitude regarding all sorts of things. From how I look at His church, to considering how I treat my family; God is shining some new light on several subjects, and in some cases the Lord has rearranged some priorities or changed some long held thoughts. As He works, God is showing me which things I need to care about. While issues with my family are receiving renewed care, other issues are things that I haven’t cared about ever before. One thing is still common in all the lessons I’m learning; If we care about something, God wants us to do something about it, often giving us direction as to what He wants done or how.

In the Book of Matthew, Jesus talked a little bit about managing what we care about.

“Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” Matthew 6:19-21 [ESV]

What God has been showing through this season of learning is that I’ve had some things that matter to me that have no value in heaven. I’m not fond of having to pay more to a corrupt and broken social security system, but what will my green pieces of American paper do for me when I’m called home. I’d like to know that if I want to own a firearm one day that I won’t have a million hoops to jump through, but David reminded us in the Psalms that God is a shield and strong tower. These are just some of the treasure I had stored up in what I considered to be appropriate government. There have been other treasures from other areas of life that have the same kind of heavenly value, NONE!

Keep in mind that Jesus warned us to be mindful of where we place our treasures, or what we care about. If we store our treasures in this world, it is going to be really hard to live as though His heavenly kingdom is what matters to us. If pleasing the owner of heaven is not that important to you, then keep your heart fixed on what you value here on earth. For me, I love the life I’m getting every time I invest more of my cares in what will matter after this world has long since been gone.

Written by Timothy Hegerich

There is truth in our world, and it lies within the word of the One who created the world.  It is my prayer that my thoughts and writings echo this truth and inspire you to seek it for your life today!

Leave a Reply

