Testimonies of a Father: Have you Prayed about it?

(This Post was written back in December and posted @ dailysignsofhope.com January 7th)

This past week, my wife and I took our first vacation together in over two years. We packed up the kids on Monday morning and hit the road. After a long day of driving, we finally got the keys to the cabin we had booked. We followed the directions that they had given us, and were pulling into the cabin an hour past bedtime. The kids were done with the car, so I hurried to open the door to our cabin. But…the key didn’t work!

We tried every door we could find, and finally called the emergency number. They had given us the directions to the wrong cabin and the cabin we had booked was another 30 minute drive from where we were. So now an hour and 30 minutes after bedtime, we were loading the children back into their car seats and off for another short trip on the road. However, our three month old little girl had had enough.

Our daughter had already been crying for the last 30 minutes of the car ride and for another 20 minutes while we sorted out the problem with the rental company. Her little heart was clearly at a breaking point and it was really beginning to make me edgy. I was already frustrated that we were given wrong directions, so my attitude wasn’t quite right. After about 5 minutes of hearing our little girl sharing her immense displeasure, my wife suggested that I pray for her. My prayer was simple and from a frustrated heart, and I didn’t even say amen. So as you might imagine, all we heard from the back seat was … SILENCE!

Almost instantly God answered that prayer. I specifically asked that he comfort her as her mom and I drove to where our cabin was. That is exactly what He did. Even when we had to stop and get gas 10 minutes away from the cabin, she didn’t make a sound, when she normally wakes up when we stop. What kind of impact could God’s people have if prayer was in the forefront of our minds? I could have sought God’s help before getting mad or frustrated, but I didn’t. How many times have we been in situations where God would act, but we simply are not asking?

All I can say is that on that night God challenged me with several things, but one of the clearest things he taught me was to bring the things that concern me to Him and be ready for Him to work.

Written by Timothy Hegerich

There is truth in our world, and it lies within the word of the One who created the world.  It is my prayer that my thoughts and writings echo this truth and inspire you to seek it for your life today!

Leave a Reply

