Faith like a Child’s … Toy: Puzzles

What will the picture be?

What will the picture be?

I enjoy a good puzzle. I enjoy taking a mess of pieces and constructing them into the image they were intended to be. Whether simple or complex, as a child I was a happy child with a puzzle. Now as an adult, part of my career as an Admissions Counselor at Brewton-Parker is to help young adults put together a few more pieces to the puzzle that is their life. No wonder I like my job!

Today, I was talking with a student about his plans for college and beyond. He is headed down a great path. This student wanted to be involved with youth ministry, but he isn’t sure if that will be what he will do for his entire life. He is more than willing to surrender to the call that God has placed on his life to serve in ministry, but he is also wise enough to realize that many youth ministers are called away from that career later on in life. He wants to be prepared for such an event, so he simply asked me for some thoughts.

Towards the end of our conversation, I mentioned to him that I was glad he could clearly see that God wants part of his life’s picture to be youth ministry. I mentioned that just like a puzzle, he may have found where one piece fit, but God will continue to show him how his life’s puzzle will finally look. We talked a little bit more, but then it was time for this student to go back to class. I packed up my travel bag, and headed back to the office.

As I drove home I thought more about this conversation, knowing that comparing this life to a puzzle was spot on. One day, you and I will be able to clearly see what our life’s picture will be. While we are living our lives out, however, there are times when we see a puzzle piece that isn’t really meant to be in our life’s picture.  As we grow up, we see things in life that we admire and we see other things in life that we are not so fond of. So naturally, as we piece together what our life is supposed to be, we will grab a piece that we think fits right in with what we believe our picture should be. However, as we continue to grow, if we look closer at the puzzle that piece may not fit where we have put it, or it may not even belong to the puzzle we are putting together. Now, since I am sure you know a thing or two about puzzles, what happens when a piece doesn’t fit or if the piece doesn’t belong to the puzzle we are putting together? No matter how hard you and I try, the picture will not come out as the designer intended.

Let me remind you tonight that God has designed you and your life! He planned your life’s picture when He formed you in your mother’s womb, and you can be sure that He always intended for your life to be a work of art. My conversation with this student reminded me that the best way to find out what my life’s puzzle will look like is to take the time to find out how every piece God gives me fits.  Life is a journey that is tough enough without you forcing pieces into your life’s picture that don’t belong there. Don’t be content with a picture that is not coming out like God intended. Take the time to find out how each piece fits. When you finally get to see your life’s puzzle, if you make the effort to put it together right, I know you will like what you see.

Written by Timothy Hegerich. Edited by Caroline Hegerich.

There is truth in our world, and it lies within the word of the One who created the world.  It is my prayer that my thoughts and writings echo this truth and inspire you to seek it for your life today!

Leave a Reply

