Small Things Matter

Recently, I posted a topic on doing good and using that to advance the gospel message. Along these same lines is another truth that I want to call to your attention this evening. Sometimes, you and I fail to do the good things in life because we do not feel like the little things we can do will make much of a difference. Will a kind word to someone today really make their day any better? Would giving just a dollar or two extra to a ministry really impact the lost? Let me remind you that small things matter!

I want to call your attention first to Matthew 25:31-46. This passage writes about the judgment and how one day the Lord will separate his creation into two camps: Those who served him and those who did not. When he addresses those who will inherit His kingdom, He praises these people for caring for him in various times of need. These people then ask how they had even done such, and the Lord says, “whatever you did for the least of my brothers, you did for me.”  Notice that the Bible says whatever we do for the least of His people will be considered as service given to Him. The people that are set apart for a life in Hell with Satan are those who did nothing to serve His people.

I would also like to mention the passage from Mark 12, verses 41-44, regarding the widow’s offering. As the Jews were making offerings to the temple treasury, a widow comes and places two small copper coins into the collection box. Jesus makes the point to remind the disciples that her offering was the greatest of all, not because of it’s monetary value, but because of the heart that gave when there was nothing really to give.

A sister from Canada helped me see this point recently. While I love writing, there are days where I feel like the words really aren’t making too much of an impact for the Lord and his Kingdom. However, as her blog post states, a post I made several months back using Maple Syrup as a thought trigger turned into a blessing for several believers. I’m not suggesting that these would be the least of his kingdom, but I did receive a nice reminder from the Lord that what I do to honor Him will be used in His way and in His time.

When it comes to serving Christ, Christians can often be their own worst enemies. God is not looking for us to put on the greatest productions of goodness and charity for those who have needs. He simply wants us to give when we realize there is a need. It would not take long to find things in this world that are not right, but what good are we doing if we don’t even attempt to show God’s love in the small ways we are capable of. You and I may never know how massive an impact our small efforts of obedience will have on our Father’s world, but at least we will know that what we do pleases our King, Jesus Christ!

Written by Timothy Hegerich / Edited by Caroline Hegerich

There is truth in our world, and it lies within the word of the One who created the world.  It is my prayer that my thoughts and writings echo this truth and inspire you to seek it for your life today!

Leave a Reply

