Glimpses of Faith

After a long day of work at Brewton-Parker, before I head home for the night, there are some days when I need to drive our office’s golf cart back to it’s home in our President’s garage. We’ve had some landscapers cutting down trees around campus lately, and they had been cutting down some trees by his home. As I walked around the side of his house to head back to the office and leave for the night, I noticed a wonderful image left by someone who had cut down one of these trees.

2013-04-30_17-18-53_534

What a treat! It may not win many awards for sculpting, but it sure brought some joy to my day. I stopped in my tracks and knew at once I had to take a picture.  I instantly felt a bond of commonality with the one who made this cross, even though I have no idea who it was. My mind changed gears from stress and weariness to excitement and joy. One little thing turned the direction of my evening.

When I got home, I thought more on how such glimpses of faith are a tool you and I have for impacting our world. I know for me, a little thought from scripture has often built me up and offered more strength, or challenged me to reconsider how I approach a situation I find myself struggling with. Some Christians could tell you about kind actions that have conquered a negative attitude. You may know of a time when a lost acquaintance in your life has come back to you with questions about the Lord after they have seen a good example of Christian-living around them. Evangelism isn’t always about a long discussion on theology, sometimes it can be just simply offering glimpses of your relationship to the Lord consistently to those around you.

These little moments where our faith is evident shows the world that Christ is alive in our lives. Once a lost man or woman begins to question the activity of God in their life, who knows what questions will follow? For those who already know Jesus as their Redeemer, these glimpses of faith can serve as God’s way of sending them strength for whatever situation they find themselves in. Small things may not seem like much, but even a small glimpse of the Lord’s goodness or mercy may be just what God has planned to change someone’s life. What glimpse of His glory can you offer to those around you today?

Written by Timothy Hegerich / Edited by Caroline Hegerich

There is truth in our world, and it lies within the word of the One who created the world.  It is my prayer that my thoughts and writings echo this truth and inspire you to seek it for your life today!

Leave a Reply

