Will You Still Worship?

As it does so often in life, change has arrived for my family and me. We are packing up our home and preparing to begin a new chapter in life as I look forward to joining the staff of Bluefield College, a Southern Baptist College in southwest Virginia. My career isn’t really changing, as I will be doing much of what I have been doing the last five years for this new institution. However, the change that is coming is that for at least a little while, I will not be pastoring a flock of believers. In fact, I’m not sure what role I will be filling at the next church I attend. Let me assure you of one thing though, I will still worship our Lord!

For some Christians, when the pressure is off of them and no one is really looking at them, their behavior changes. Things such as their attitudes, language or style of dress change when they do not feel they have anyone to impress. What we often forget is that worship is not done to appease or gain favor with the other sinners who have gathered at 11am on a Sunday Morning. Worship is the act of a repentant man or woman to appeal for forgiveness and to offer thanksgiving for the undeserved love given to us by an Amazing God!

Many of you will realize that it does not take a significant event in life to impact our worship. All we have to do is leave the building that has a steeple on its roof and our worship often changes. If you are around a person who may disapprove of, or even offer hostile thoughts regarding your faith, our worship will be affected. Regardless of the events of our lives, worship is the natural response for those who daily take up the cause of Christ.

In many, many churches, worship is affected by the number of participants, the age of those gathered, and even by who is and is not in attendance. I can remember a time or two as a child when the time of singing would lose some of its joy if a particular deacon was not in the service that morning.  You may have noticed one time or another when a group devotional lost some intrigue when a certain person didn’t have much to say that day. We should examine ourselves in times like this, and seek confirmation from the Lord that what we are offering as worship is what He is expecting from us!

When Jesus met the Samaritan woman at the well, He told her during their discussion that a time was coming when God’s people would worship Him in “Spirit and Truth.” (John 4:23) In fact, Jesus said that this time had already begun while He was still with his disciples. We will not always be able to enjoy our preferred means of true worship. I have been blessed to open the word with my family at Beulah Baptist these last few years, but when God brings me to seasons where I join the followers of another shepherd, I still need to worship Him with all my heart, soul and mind. As things change in your world from day to day, is your worship changing? Could it even be that what you are offering to the Lord is really not worship at all?  Whatever change comes your way today, make an effort to continue to give Jesus all the worship He is due!

Written by Timothy Hegerich / Edited by Caroline Hegerich

There is truth in our world, and it lies within the word of the One who created the world.  It is my prayer that my thoughts and writings echo this truth and inspire you to seek it for your life today!

Leave a Reply

