Testimonies of a Father: Gaining Perspective

I L.O.V.E. being a dad! I have a two year old son who erupts with joy when I open the door after a long day’s work. He wakes up each morning knowing that his Daddy is the buddy he wants to see. I have a one year old little girl who I feel defines “precious.” She and I have our own language at times that is just between her and her daddy. At the end of the night, there are times where I wish it were morning so I could see them and hold them some more. Life as a daddy is great!

Recently I stopped for a moment and thought about how great my life is because I have two wonderful children and a third little blessing on the way. As I looked back on all the things about them I cherish, I thought of how sad life would be without them. As I began mulling over that thought, God brought to my mind the story of Job.

Job was a good man. He feared the Lord and loved his family. He loved his family so much, he would offer sacrifices to God to ask forgiveness of their sins just in case they had done something wrong that day that they had not repented of. Job had 10 children, but when Satan was given permission to test the character of Job, Satan took all ten children from him in one day! Imagine all the sorrow that he felt after his beloved children, all of them, are taken from him in a single day.

As a young man, the story of Job was relative to me because I knew I had parents who loved me, and I knew that they would be sad if something were to happen to me. However, sadness does not begin to cover the extreme grief we find in the story of Job. I shudder at the thought of losing one child, but Job lost every child he had! At once! It’s a pain I can’t understand, but I can begin to appreciate more now that I have a glimpse of that agony with even the thought of losing a child. My experience as a father has offered me new light in how to understand this story and other stories in God’s word.

Life’s experiences, when coupled with a healthy dose of the knowledge of God, offer us the extra insights to how God works in our lives and through scripture. The strength of Job’s character is so great that even after the loss of all his children, He praised the Lord! How petty can we be sometimes when we do not like what God allows to happen in our life! As a father, I have felt the pain of knowing my child was in agony over a situation and I just had to love until he could relax and return to a calmer state. This shows me how God cares for us as we struggle with poor decisions or sin in our life.

We all have experiences in our lives that we can use to help us understand who our God is and how he moves in our world! Take the time to read the Word of God and consider how the situations you have seen can help you understand the God who you are striving to know.

Written by Timothy Hegerich / Edited by Caroline Hegerich

There is truth in our world, and it lies within the word of the One who created the world.  It is my prayer that my thoughts and writings echo this truth and inspire you to seek it for your life today!

One comment

Leave a Reply

