Tempted to Stop Pursuing Good Things

This is an old draft from the time this blog was ‘Written by Blazin.’ After reading it today, I felt it had value for my life, so perhaps you will find it has value for yours. I will return to my usual music posts tomorrow. – Timothy

The Temptation: If you were to take a minute to look at the lives of the Christians around you, you would see many men and women who love God, but who also seem to believe the world is a lost cause. There are some who have attempted great things for God, but have paused when the question is raised whether they are the one for the job. Some fail to act on a passion or a calling because they have been fed a steady diet of skepticism and apprehension by Non-believers and Christians alike. I wanted to take a moment and remind you that we serve a Mighty God, and that we need to spend more time preparing ourselves to combat the temptation to quit.

The Passage: I am sure of this, that He who started a good work in you, will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus. Philippians 1:6  [HSCB] (Click for: NASB / NLT / KJV)

The Examples:

Surrendering to Failure: “I know this ministry would be a blessing to our community, but I just don’t see how we can pull it together.” (If this is a thing God wants, Paul says you can be sure it will be done!)

Weakened by poor results: “I have worked hard, but I just can’t get my sales numbers up.” (If the efforts we make are for God, trust that He will see your effort as Good and Worthy.)

Questioning the Effort: “I really don’t want to waste my time when I don’t think he’ll change.” (The work we do requires the help of Jesus, and he will complete what he sets out to do!)

The Challenge: This world could use some of the goodness that only comes from God. He has prepared unique ways for each of us to serve Him and bring his blessings to those around us. However, when God’s people do not attempt to do the things God has planned, we allow the enemy to maintain another foot hold in this world, as well as offer him one in our heads as well.  Seek God’s plan for your life and ask Him to fill you with His strength and love as you pursue His Greatness! Build more Prayer in your life, and watch Him prove His power in the big and little things! Do not grow weary with wanting good things to come!

Leave a Reply

