Looking Back Review: ‘The Generous Mr. Lovewell’ from MercyMe

lovewellReleased: May 4th, 2010 / Total Tracks: 11 / My Favorite Song: Crazy Enough, Won’t you be my Love / Radio Singles: Move, Beautiful, All of Creation / My Radio Picks: This Life, Crazy Enough, Won’t you be my Love / YHHS Album Rating:  3.7 Stars

I have been in the process of cataloging my collection to help in knowing what I have available in my wealth of Christian music. I listened to this album for the first time in several months, and I was right back to having a good time. So, I wanted to share my thoughts in hope that I may help someone find some not quite new tunes to enjoy and be blessed by.

When an album kicks off with a high energy track, it is a good way to get my attention. Mr. Lovewell’s first song, ‘This Life,’ is upbeat and it reminds us that our lives are meant to be shining the love of Christ. Following in the number two slot is the title track, ‘The Generous Mr. Lovewell.’ This song is not as fast as the first, but it is still pretty good in my books, with a 4 star rating. In the third slot is a tune most Christian Radio listeners should be familiar with, ‘Move’. Another fast paced peice, but with a classic 80’s feel, ‘Move,’ grabbed the top spot on Billboards Hot Christian Songs Chart on September 3rd, 2011. All three radio singles from this project achieved that number one slot.

When I first listened to ‘The Generous Mr. Lovewell,’ this is the track I kept playing. ‘Crazy Enough,’ holding the 4th position on the disc, starts a slowing in pace that you will notice in the next several tracks. As you will hear, the music creates a nice classic rock connection, but the message is basically asking listeners to aspire higher, even if it seems crazy. This song reminds me a lot of the message in 1 Corinthians 2, where the message of the Gospel is foolishness, or crazy, to those whose minds think like the world. The sound of this song sucks me in to a solid message just about every time still.

all of creationNext up comes the other two #1 hits from the album. ‘All of Creation(5)’ and ‘Beautiful(6)’ continue the album’s slow down, and bring some really strong messages. If you have not heard these songs before, you may still hear them played from time to time on many Christian Radio stations. (When they are not playing Christmas Music.)

The seventh track, one of two I considered as 3 star offerings, is the song ‘Back to You.’ This is a nice song about the message of staying right with God. The next tune is, ‘Only You Remain,’ and it hits on the reality that God is constant in life when everything else is prone to crumbling at some point or another. ‘Free’ is in the ninth position, and it is the other three star song on the album.

Not quite last is the song, ‘Won’t You Be My  Love.’ This track had to grow on me, but it soon became my favorite on the CD. It’s slow tempo aids in adding a genuine feel to a song that sounds like a plea from God for His people to learn how to love the world. This is a message the church could use each day, as it is basically a reminder of the responsibility we accepted when we accepted our call to salvation!

There is a short 11th number on the album, but while the message is good, I feel like it is a song that should have been more fully developed before being released.

If you are looking for a good CD to add to your collection and you do not already own this one, I can honestly say this is one of my most favored discs in my collection. Just business as usual from Bart and the guys from MercyMe. Thanks for reading! – Timothy

Leave a Reply

