Saturday Night Call to Worship – ‘Pour My Love on You’ from Phillips, Craig and Dean

‘Mary therefore took a pound of expensive ointment made from pure nard, and anointed the feet of Jesus and wiped his feet with her hair. The house was filled with the fragrance of the perfume.’ John 12:3 ESV

I have to admit, when I first heard this song during a college worship service at Brewton-Parker College, I did not like it. I can also admit that I did not appreciate the artistic song writing of Dan Dean nor did I identify the story from scripture that serves as the foundation of this song. However, this week, this song has not left my mind! I’ve sung the song at the dinner table, in my car, in my office at random times of the day, and I’ve listened to the song before going to bed a night or two as well. It’s safe to say God is speaking to me through it.

Mary and JesusThis song comes from a heart that is truly connected with the Lord. The love that often causes a songwriter to be left speechless comes out in this song in the idea that the only expression of praise that matches this passion is this moment from John 12.  Jesus had recently raised Mary’s brother, Lazarus, from the dead. A bit later Jesus and some of the disciples had gathered for a meal at Mary’s home. At some point during the evening, Mary brings out a jar of perfume, anoints the feet of Jesus, and then wipes them with her hair. For Mary, no words could express the love she now has for Jesus. In this moment Mary surrenders much of her earthly wealth and her personal beauty/value to care for Jesus’ feet, which would be considered a rather unclean part of a person. Put simply, she gave up a great deal of her own dignity to bring honor to Jesus. WHAT A PICTURE OF WORSHIP!

So this Phillips, Craig and Dean song attempts to bring our minds to this powerful image of praise. I Pour My Love On You’ is a call for you and I to pour our worth out as we praise the Lord. When you arrive to your church in the morning, put life’s worries to the side and just praise the Lord with all your love. – Timothy

‘I Pour My Love On You,’ is the 5th track on the 2001 album Let My Words Be Few from Phillips, Craig and Dean.

Sweet Sweet Song Rating: 4 stars

Leave a Reply

