Epic Song: ‘More Than You Think I Am’ from Danny Gokey

Epic Song According to Sweet Sweet Sounds: A song that inspires a nearly instant repeat when on your playlist, or that you look forward to listening to again.

I have to admit, while I have always enjoyed ‘More Than You Think I Am,’ from Danny Gokey, I can now admit that I did not appreciate just how amazing this song was until I sat and read the lyrics. I want my readers to know what I think is an epic song, and I hope that as you listen for the first or 1,000th time, you will agree.

‘More Than You Think I Am,’ has a solid pace, great music, and a good singer, but it crosses into the realm of truly awesome when you consider what is being said. (Lyrics Link) The first several times I heard the song, I thought Danny was singing a first person song about being there for another believer. While the concept is a good one, and the music is great, I had it pegged between 3 and 4 stars. However, that is not the message of the track.

dannygokeyDanny Gokey is singing a song where he assumes what Christ might be saying to a sinner who has yet to give Him their life. It is easy for a sinner to assume that God is too far away or just itching for a chance to judge their failings, but that does not allow God to speak for the rest of His character. He is much more than the few things many of the fallen recognize. Higher than their dreams, and greater than a man can fathom, God has wanted to live in fellowship with us from the start of creation.

In the bridge, Danny continues further suggesting that God is asking for an opportunity to show how great He really is. ‘More Than You Think I Am,’ is a song of open minded hope and a passion for the lost to hear from Christ. The fact that this passionately evangelistic song is getting national Christian Radio play is great, because it goes beyond the typical feel good message, and comes out and calls for the listener to consider just who Christ is.

The message makes this song one of the best I have heard in a long time, to the point of tearing up when I think of its power and passion.Ā  Danny, thank you for being the voice of a truly incredible song. – Timothy

‘More Than You Think I Am is the second track on Danny Gokey’s album, Hope In Front of Me.

3 comments

  1. That song is so amazing. I’ve been listening to it for a while, and have enjoyed it. I agree with every point you make in this post. “The fact that this passionately evangelistic song is getting national Christian Radio play is great, because it goes beyond the typical feel good message…” Yes! That is so true. Christian radio has become a bit weak at times, and this song is bringing it back to the truth. Thank you for this wonderful post! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

