‘O’ is for October and OM-53

Look, I know that the title is a bit elementary, but my little sweeties love their alphabet references. Let’s start October with a look another new name in the realm of modern Christian music.

OM-53 is a worship band that is beginning to branch out from Oasis Church out of New Jersey. Their unique name is a blend of several elements including their church of origin and a passage from Isaiah 53 that has been impactful on the band. As the band is working on their second EP, one of the members, Cris, sent me a song to sample. You know the drill from here, it’s time to share the Sweet Sweet Sounds!

Similar to the guys from Circa 71, OM-53 is bringing classic rock styles back to the modern CCM scene. The retro style has a place and the song is well produced and enjoyable. The message of ‘Seasons’ is looking to remind the church that praise for the Lord is not bound to a particular frame of mind.  Worship is unleashed by a seeking God’s heart, not by highs and lows. Sure, there are times when it is easier, but we still have the opportunity to choose to praise God.

While I really like the sound and pace, the message has a good bit of impact for me these days too. My walk is taking a direction I never expected, and yet I am convinced of one thing: ‘I will seek and trust Jesus.’ I’ve been though many confusing seasons, but I want nothing more than to know Him each day. That is very hard if we are not looking to worship God, but rather we are focused on leveling the playing field in the ways we can. No matter the season you are in, worship is not possible without a desire to see God as higher than ourselves.

So, you enjoyed the song, huh? Me too. Wanna hear more? Well, stay tuned as their second album Defender is on the way. However, their initial EP has been compiled, and each song is available for listening to via their website. The first project is more of a worship project, and the new album will take a direction similar to ‘Seasons’. Remember, one listen is well and good, but if you want more, show them your support the right way.

Cris, thanks for joining the audience, and please be sure to send us more as Defender gets rolled out. Reader’s, thanks again for keeping tuned in to my little blog! – Timothy

 

Leave a comment